Battery change - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
General Saturn Sky Discussion Forum for discussing general topics on the Saturn SKY.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Battery change

Hi everyone,how do you replace the battery in a sky?
copdriver91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
There are several posts on the sol forum with detailed instructions. Basically you remove the right fender to get access to the battery. Takes about 20 minutes
Rob the Elder is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for the help
copdriver91 is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
lllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Use the search.
LLLFLY

08 PW R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Goodyear Blimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Best Interior 2012 NASSM
2nd American Legends 2013
DDMWORKS Loaded, Wind Restrictor
lllfly is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 10:03 PM
GT!
Senior Member
 
GT!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
There are several posts on the sol forum with detailed instructions. Basically you remove the right fender to get access to the battery. Takes about 20 minutes
... 20 min if you're good

-GT
GT! is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 12:17 AM
Administrator
 
Bogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 5,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT! View Post
... 20 min if you're good
Yeah, if you have done it a couple of times, you can go pretty fast. First time takes a lot longer. Read up on getting the gaps correct on re-assembly. Those fine adjustments can take time....lots of time if you don't know the sequence.

2008 Redline Auto
Born 7/20/07
Snagged 8/31/07
Released 8/8/15
Bogie is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 12:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Ok, the first time I did it (and only time) it took about 20 minutes. I found it to be a very simple task. Not like the hours it took to swap the power steering pump.
Rob the Elder is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
When I change the battery, one thing I like to do is plug in a battery source through the cigarette lighter. This keeps electrical juice in the system, so when you unplug the battery, it preserves all of your radio settings.
DenverSky is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
I did not loose my radio settings. I had to recalibrate the AC though. This is a good tip. I will have to remember it when I do the Sky next summer

Rob the Elder is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 04:47 PM
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 15,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
I did not loose my radio settings. I had to recalibrate the AC though. This is a good tip. I will have to remember it when I do the Sky next summer

I already changed my battery but what does the AC settings have to do with this
marlboromike is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
When I installed the new battery, there was no AC. Until I recalobrated.
Rob the Elder is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 08:27 PM
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 15,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
When I installed the new battery, there was no AC. Until I recalobrated.
The only thing I recall was those 3 temperature setting knobs on the dash...they started to flash several times ...guess to reset all functions
regarding the ecm and bcm...other than that...everything worked perfectly...of couse the radio settings and clock had to manually be reset.
marlboromike is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-2012, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
lllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
The same here as MMike stated.
This happen after 5min of wait time -+.
LLLFLY

08 PW R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Goodyear Blimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Best Interior 2012 NASSM
2nd American Legends 2013
DDMWORKS Loaded, Wind Restrictor
lllfly is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlboromike View Post
The only thing I recall was those 3 temperature setting knobs on the dash...they started to flash several times ...guess to reset all functions
regarding the ecm and bcm...other than that...everything worked perfectly...of couse the radio settings and clock had to manually be reset.
Yes MM the flashing LEDs indicate that the AC controlls are executing a self calibration. It will execute this following a loss of DC. Theroblem is that it may or may not execute correctly. I always follow the factory cal procedure which calls for the engine to be OFF while the key is in the run position. Most of the time, the self cal results in little or no AC command
Rob the Elder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > General Saturn Sky Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome