Battery change - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Saturn Sky Forum Saturn Sky Forum
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > General Saturn Sky Discussion
Register Home Forum  /  Current Posts Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

General Saturn Sky Discussion Forum for discussing general topics on the Saturn SKY.

SkyRoadster.com is the premier Saturn Sky Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 16
My Photos: (0)
Battery change

Hi everyone,how do you replace the battery in a sky?
copdriver91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,297
My Photos: (3)
There are several posts on the sol forum with detailed instructions. Basically you remove the right fender to get access to the battery. Takes about 20 minutes
__________________
Optimistic now
Rob the Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 16
My Photos: (0)
Thanks for the help
copdriver91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
lllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 2,205
My Photos: (14)
Use the search.
LLLFLY
__________________
08 PW R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Goodyear Blimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Best Interior 2012 NASSM
2nd American Legends 2013
DDMWORKS Loaded, Wind Restrictor
lllfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
GT!
Senior Member
 
GT!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 818
My Photos: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
There are several posts on the sol forum with detailed instructions. Basically you remove the right fender to get access to the battery. Takes about 20 minutes
... 20 min if you're good

-GT
GT! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Administrator
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Bogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 5,581
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT! View Post
... 20 min if you're good
Yeah, if you have done it a couple of times, you can go pretty fast. First time takes a lot longer. Read up on getting the gaps correct on re-assembly. Those fine adjustments can take time....lots of time if you don't know the sequence.
__________________
2008 Redline Auto
Born 7/20/07
"Don't apologize for irrationality.
Where would the car hobby be without it?"
- Bob Lutz
Bogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,297
My Photos: (3)
Ok, the first time I did it (and only time) it took about 20 minutes. I found it to be a very simple task. Not like the hours it took to swap the power steering pump.
__________________
Optimistic now
Rob the Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 42
My Photos: (0)
When I change the battery, one thing I like to do is plug in a battery source through the cigarette lighter. This keeps electrical juice in the system, so when you unplug the battery, it preserves all of your radio settings.
DenverSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,297
My Photos: (3)
I did not loose my radio settings. I had to recalibrate the AC though. This is a good tip. I will have to remember it when I do the Sky next summer

__________________
Optimistic now
Rob the Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 14,061
My Photos: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
I did not loose my radio settings. I had to recalibrate the AC though. This is a good tip. I will have to remember it when I do the Sky next summer

I already changed my battery but what does the AC settings have to do with this
marlboromike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,297
My Photos: (3)
When I installed the new battery, there was no AC. Until I recalobrated.
__________________
Optimistic now
Rob the Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 14,061
My Photos: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the Elder View Post
When I installed the new battery, there was no AC. Until I recalobrated.
The only thing I recall was those 3 temperature setting knobs on the dash...they started to flash several times ...guess to reset all functions
regarding the ecm and bcm...other than that...everything worked perfectly...of couse the radio settings and clock had to manually be reset.
marlboromike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
lllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 2,205
My Photos: (14)
The same here as MMike stated.
This happen after 5min of wait time -+.
LLLFLY
__________________
08 PW R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Goodyear Blimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Best Interior 2012 NASSM
2nd American Legends 2013
DDMWORKS Loaded, Wind Restrictor
lllfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Parker Colorado
Posts: 3,297
My Photos: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlboromike View Post
The only thing I recall was those 3 temperature setting knobs on the dash...they started to flash several times ...guess to reset all functions
regarding the ecm and bcm...other than that...everything worked perfectly...of couse the radio settings and clock had to manually be reset.
Yes MM the flashing LEDs indicate that the AC controlls are executing a self calibration. It will execute this following a loss of DC. Theroblem is that it may or may not execute correctly. I always follow the factory cal procedure which calls for the engine to be OFF while the key is in the run position. Most of the time, the self cal results in little or no AC command
__________________
Optimistic now
Rob the Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > General Saturn Sky Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.