Can't Decide on a Turbo Upgrade - Page 3 - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Saturn Sky Forum Saturn Sky Forum
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Saturn Sky Performance Discussion
Register Home Forum  /  Current Posts Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Saturn Sky Performance Discussion Internal Engine | External Engine | Suspension | Exhaust | Upgrades and Aftermarket

SkyRoadster.com is the premier Saturn Sky Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 04:18 PM   #31 (permalink)
Member
 
highaltitudesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 48
My Photos: (5)
So I ended up going with a 6258 EFR. I wanted the 6758 but they are currently on backorder for an indefinite period of time. I hope it's worth the money I spent and gives me a couple more horses.

I'll post my reaction and thoughts once it's installed.
highaltitudesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2013, 04:37 PM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
miller11386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,793
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by highaltitudesky View Post
So I ended up going with a 6258 EFR. I wanted the 6758 but they are currently on backorder for an indefinite period of time. I hope it's worth the money I spent and gives me a couple more horses.

I'll post my reaction and thoughts once it's installed.
Are you building the shortblock as well? By the time this spools up and gets rolling, you will be out of room/ crushing your stock rods.
miller11386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:48 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Elff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Keebler, PA
Posts: 3,578
My Photos: (5)
I don't see that being the case.
The 6258 has the same power as the 2871. It just gets there slightly different and has the built in BPV so no need for the BOV. The Billet parts makes it spool quick but it maxes at 44lbs/min of airflow
__________________
LUSIFER

I'm not short, I'm concentrated AWESOME
Elff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:06 PM   #34 (permalink)
Member
 
highaltitudesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 48
My Photos: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller11386 View Post
Are you building the shortblock as well? By the time this spools up and gets rolling, you will be out of room/ crushing your stock rods.
Building the engine is something I plan on doing in the future but I don't think it'll be necessary for the 6258. I'm also confident that my tuner will keep the power at a safe level.
highaltitudesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:14 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Elff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Keebler, PA
Posts: 3,578
My Photos: (5)
That should be fun and safe with E47
__________________
LUSIFER

I'm not short, I'm concentrated AWESOME
Elff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
|V3nom|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 2,007
My Photos: (0)
i like the concept of werks wr-2 and 3 turbos. they bolt up to the stock manifold, intake, and ic piping, literally no extra modification other than swapping the turbo. if i every go bigger ill probably go wr-2 due to ease of installation and lower power levels so i dont have to build the motor.
__________________
GM Stage 1 Tune|Solo Street Race Exhaust With Magnaflow Mufflers|GMR 8K HIDs|Parking Light Leds|License Plate Leds|Little Chromies|3rd Brake Light Vinyl:REDLINE|GMR Pulsating and Sequential Taillights|
|V3nom| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:35 PM   #37 (permalink)
A14
Senior Member
 
A14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Canyon, Tx
Posts: 550
My Photos: (0)
So with 6758s being non existent, how can this guy be selling 7 of them on eBay?

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...d=400209964393
A14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:38 AM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
40rty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,148
My Photos: (0)
Look as for the Bolt-on turbo kits, its convenient to use the stock manifold but does it flow well when putting on that bigger turbo for more power? That's the question that needs to be asked.
__________________
2007 Sky Redline: DDMWorks Charge Pipes & Intercooler, Solo Performance 3" Mach Shorty, ZZP S1 cams, Supertech Valve springs, BNR 2871, SPEC Stage 3+, Android "Torque" bluetooth RPD, HPT e47 tuned by TERM2. ???whp ???wtrq Dyno coming soon.
40rty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:51 AM   #39 (permalink)
A14
Senior Member
 
A14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Canyon, Tx
Posts: 550
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40rty View Post
Look as for the Bolt-on turbo kits, its convenient to use the stock manifold but does it flow well when putting on that bigger turbo for more power? That's the question that needs to be asked.
Yeah, I wonder if thats why werks has that other one for the borg warner efr series. Would be nice if it could be adapted to the bolt ons? Where is gmtech?
A14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 02:14 AM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
40rty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,148
My Photos: (0)
Gmtech is to busy for forums lately. He works hard so jut be patient. I ported my stock exhaust manifold for my BNR. Got her started up yesterday and sat the rings.
__________________
2007 Sky Redline: DDMWorks Charge Pipes & Intercooler, Solo Performance 3" Mach Shorty, ZZP S1 cams, Supertech Valve springs, BNR 2871, SPEC Stage 3+, Android "Torque" bluetooth RPD, HPT e47 tuned by TERM2. ???whp ???wtrq Dyno coming soon.
40rty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:09 AM   #41 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Elff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Keebler, PA
Posts: 3,578
My Photos: (5)
That guy could have snagged some a couple months back, but right after they looked to be available, they got in low demand. You really need to buy two just in case you have a failure.
__________________
LUSIFER

I'm not short, I'm concentrated AWESOME
Elff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:13 PM   #42 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
|V3nom|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 2,007
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40rty View Post
Look as for the Bolt-on turbo kits, its convenient to use the stock manifold but does it flow well when putting on that bigger turbo for more power? That's the question that needs to be asked.
you could do like gmtech did and have one custom made to fit in the stock location. good thing about werks wr-2 is that you dont have to get a new manifold since it bolts up to the stock location. then later when the funds are back and you want more power then get a custom one made.
__________________
GM Stage 1 Tune|Solo Street Race Exhaust With Magnaflow Mufflers|GMR 8K HIDs|Parking Light Leds|License Plate Leds|Little Chromies|3rd Brake Light Vinyl:REDLINE|GMR Pulsating and Sequential Taillights|
|V3nom| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:06 PM   #43 (permalink)
A14
Senior Member
 
A14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Canyon, Tx
Posts: 550
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40rty View Post
Gmtech is to busy for forums lately. He works hard so jut be patient. I ported my stock exhaust manifold for my BNR. Got her started up yesterday and sat the rings.
Good. I was afraid someone pissed him off for good while I was gone hehe.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Elff View Post
That guy could have snagged some a couple months back, but right after they looked to be available, they got in low demand. You really need to buy two just in case you have a failure.
I wish! My build isnt read for a turbo yet, especially not one that would need me to build up my engine first. I would probably go for the 2871 or the WR-1. Only reason i like the WR-1 over the 2871 is because it still uses a BPV instead of needing to tap a BOV IIRC.
A14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Saturn Sky Performance Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.