New sky owner and questions about swap - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Saturn Sky Performance Discussion Internal Engine | External Engine | Suspension | Exhaust | Upgrades and Aftermarket

User Tag List

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 07:28 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
New sky owner and questions about swap

i am new to owning a sky. its yellow and absolutely gorgeous. i have been researching on ls swaps vs built motor + work. seems to be about even and all comes down to preference. Considering the automatic tranny can supposedly hold some tq. since it is a "weekend" car, id hope to hold it 10+ years and would really get to appreciate the big v8 in it. I live in new jersey and have little to no mechanical experience. Was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for a swap.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 12:33 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Garage
Anthony, there are some places that still do V8 swaps (Performance Auto Werks is one I believe. Dave at DDM has stopped doing them if memory serves) and there are a couple sites out that will give you insight into doing 2JZ swaps (drops right in with a different clutch bell on the stock trans from what I've heard...just have to figure out wiring for the engine harness).

V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
post #3 of 64 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 09:13 PM Thread Starter

the thing is i am actually in NJ, wonder if anyone is local to me. Seems Performance auto werks is in illinois . the other problem i thought id run into was the transmission. thought it would needed to be upgraded.

post #4 of 64 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 11:11 PM
Super Moderator

Garage