Chronic Limp Mode - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Saturn Sky Forum Saturn Sky Forum
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Ľ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Technical Saturn Sky Discussion
Register Home Forum  /  Current Posts Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Technical Saturn Sky Discussion Technical and performance aspects of the Saturn Sky Roadster. Sky Problems | Solutions | Repairs | Recalls | Tech Bulletins | Tech Tips | In the Manual Basic Tech

SkyRoadster.com is the premier Saturn Sky Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
Chronic Limp Mode

Not sure how it happened, but since yesterday on my way home, everytime the turbo kicks in, it goes into limp mode. It's drivable so long as I keep it from hitting the turbo. Any thoughts on what might have caused this and how to fix it?
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2011, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 1,964
My Photos: (0)
Sounds like an intake air leak. Check under the hood to see if an intake air tube has popped off or similar (the big a$$ 3" rubber tubes). Look at the driver side first, especially where the rubber tube attaches up to the throttle body directly on the left side of the engine.
__________________
Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomatoSoup View Post
Sounds like an intake air leak. Check under the hood to see if an intake air tube has popped off or similar (the big a$$ 3" rubber tubes). Look at the driver side first, especially where the rubber tube attaches up to the throttle body directly on the left side of the engine.
Ok, checked that baby out and the rest while I was at it, all were tight
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
Solved....

Well, right or wrong and I can't explain why it worked, but I disconnected the connectors from the ECM, gave it a few moments to think about how it treated me , then then reconnected them, put the key in turned it to start, gave it a few seconds and then I started the beast, let it re-learn a bit and then drove it a bit to warm up the engine to "norm". Once warm, I kicked it in the butt from a stop light and vaaa rooooom, the turbo engaged, came to life, and I had all my ponies back again.. I swear I could hear Boris yelling "It's alive, it's alive"...

Sure hope this did the trick.
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
lllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 2,205
My Photos: (14)
One for the books and I will put it in there.
LLLFLY
__________________
08 PW R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Goodyear Blimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Best Interior 2012 NASSM
2nd American Legends 2013
DDMWORKS Loaded, Wind Restrictor
lllfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
STVZ CARZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 218
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Pilot View Post
Not sure how it happened, but since yesterday on my way home, everytime the turbo kicks in, it goes into limp mode. It's drivable so long as I keep it from hitting the turbo. Any thoughts on what might have caused this and how to fix it?
Do you have the GMPP turbo upgrade?
There has been a problem with the crimped connectors used during install.
These connections should be soldered!!

My Sol Coupe had an issue with the turbo dropping to only 5psi.
After soldering the connections for the upgrade sensors, all has been fine so far.
Boosting to 20-21 fairly easily! Good Luck!
Hope it holds.
________________________
'09 Pontiac Solstice GXP Coupe - (man.) Mysterious / Black - (NIICE) Vin: 000116
'09 Saturn Sky Redline - (auto.) Ltd. Ed. Hydro Blue - (COOOL) 1 of 49
STVZ CARZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mbeardsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Allen, Texas (just north of Dallas)
Posts: 1,475
My Photos: (6)
Don't be surprised if the problem comes back after a few more key cycles.

It is likely that the ECM is detecting a problem and going in/out of limp mode in an effort to protect the engine and/or isolate the cause.

Resetting the ECM simply restarts the procedure from the beginning again. It is unlikely that you have "fixed" anything, you've just made the ECM forget about it until it detects the issue again.
__________________
2008 Red/Red/Redline
Auto, Single Monsoon, Spoiler,
GM LNF Turbo Upgrade Kit
Opel GT Antenna
Headlight Eyelids
Ordered 06/08/07
Built 07/20/07
Delivered 08/07/07
mbeardsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by STVZ CARZ View Post
Do you have the GMPP turbo upgrade?
There has been a problem with the crimped connectors used during install.
These connections should be soldered!!

My Sol Coupe had an issue with the turbo dropping to only 5psi.
After soldering the connections for the upgrade sensors, all has been fine so far.
Boosting to 20-21 fairly easily! Good Luck!
Hope it holds.
I have the GM Roadster Tune. If it recurs, I'll deprogram it and take it in.
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 1,964
My Photos: (0)
Still think you have a boost leak. Even though the intake tubes look good, they could still be letting go under pressure. Also, might be a burst intercooler (a number of folks have had that issue) - although I would expect you to see your problems reoccur immediately in that case. I guess we'll see if it returns. Wish you good luck.
__________________
Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
STVZ CARZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 218
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Pilot View Post
I have the GM Roadster Tune. If it recurs, I'll deprogram it and take it in.
If you have the upgrade tune to 290hp, then you have the Bosch sensors.
Unwrap the tape on each sensors band of wires and see if there are crimped connectors. If so they need to be soldered. This is a common problem with the tune install.
For some reason the crimped connectors are not providing a consistent enough signal. I thought mine were soldered when I first looked, but at closer inspection they were the crimped and now after soldering them I haven't seen the problem again. It's worth a try.
My limp mode only happen a couple times, but I also pulled an error code to alert me.
Good luck in solving your issue. These are too much fun to have problems!
________________________
'09 Pontiac Solstice GXP Coupe - (man.) Mysterious / Black - (NIICE) Vin: 000116
'09 Saturn Sky Redline - (auto.) Ltd. Ed. Hydro Blue - (COOOL) 1 of 49
STVZ CARZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 10:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mbeardsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Allen, Texas (just north of Dallas)
Posts: 1,475
My Photos: (6)
No, the GM roadster tune is NOT the same thing as the GMPP upgrade.

The GM Roadster tune is an "aftermarket" tune, and does not change the sensors at all.
__________________
2008 Red/Red/Redline
Auto, Single Monsoon, Spoiler,
GM LNF Turbo Upgrade Kit
Opel GT Antenna
Headlight Eyelids
Ordered 06/08/07
Built 07/20/07
Delivered 08/07/07
mbeardsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
So it's been a tweak over a week and no recurrence. I did pull a P2178 a few days ago so I checked all the IC clamps and had to tighten 3 of them; one was looser than I imagined. Iíll have to keep an eye on those in the future. I reset the ECM afterwards. If the code pops up again Iíll take her in and have the dealer check it out..
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norristown PA
Posts: 84
My Photos: (0)
Had that problem you are having. Had to replace the clamp on the throttle body with a real turbo clamp. The factory clamp tends to come loose over time and will cause the engine to go into limp mode.
ritroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 01:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 1,964
My Photos: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Pilot View Post
So it's been a tweak over a week and no recurrence. I did pull a P2178 a few days ago so I checked all the IC clamps and had to tighten 3 of them; one was looser than I imagined. Iíll have to keep an eye on those in the future. I reset the ECM afterwards. If the code pops up again Iíll take her in and have the dealer check it out..
If you've found your factory worm-screw clamp is loose, chances are the teeth slots are bent and it will slip again. Need to replace it/them with a T-bolt clamp(s).
__________________
Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sky_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Laguna Niguel
Posts: 2,179
My Photos: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomatoSoup View Post
If you've found your factory worm-screw clamp is loose, chances are the teeth slots are bent and it will slip again. Need to replace it/them with a T-bolt clamp(s).
Thanks ďTSĒ, Iíll pick a few up of appropriate sizes. I also looked at the clamp on the hose feeding the TB as retroman suggested, it too was loose. I tried to tighten it with no luck. I then tried to remove it to temporarily replace it with another screw type until I could pick up some t-bolt clamps. No matter what I did I could not remove the old clamp; I could move it, but that puppy would not come out.
Sky_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Technical Saturn Sky Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.