remote stopped working - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
General Saturn Sky Discussion Forum for discussing general topics on the Saturn SKY.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
remote stopped working

As has been mentioned on this forum before., below is a picture of my remote. My question .....is the spot right in the middle above the battery where the solder needs to be applied?

None of the buttons on my remote respond to pressing. And the battery is new since the remote failed to work. The remote just stopped working all together one day, NO part of an on/off; working/not working scenario.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-09-14 10.10.08.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	419.8 KB
ID:	95738  
44thSKY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 01:54 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Yes.

When I fixed mine the break was in the circled area, and the battery clip was loose. From this angle yours looks to be OK.

Do you have more than one remote? If so, does the other one work?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-09-14 10.10.08.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	755.6 KB
ID:	95746  

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,836
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Presuming the other remote works, clean the contact areas under the circuit board and the black pads inside the rubber membrane.

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
I only have the one remote. Lost the other one right after we got the SKY.

As we don't have another remote to assure the system is operational (some other circuit, fuse failure, etc.), is there a fuse that I should check. The failure popped up after the car had been stored for 60 days, then the remote wouldn't work when the SKY was removed from the garage.

John, (post nothing to check on the system) your circled area was the area I thought the soldering would take place. And, yes I would say the battery holder is loose, so I will solder that back down to the metal area of the board.

TS, I looked at taking the circuit board away from the remote case and will do that and clean everything as you suggest.
44thSKY is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 03:55 PM
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 17,168
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 947 Post(s)
Garage
The worst part is the dealership will rip u off for to have new one programmed...I wonder if U Tube has a way to reprogram a blank. Yes they do

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOXUIfddHBU

Last edited by marlboromike; 09-14-2017 at 04:03 PM.
marlboromike is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
Have disassembled completely and brushed all parts.

Battery holder appears to have three (3) connections. As on a clock face, left to right, one (a) at 10 o'clock (lose, not connected), one (b) at 12 o'clock (lose, not connected), and one (c) at 2 o'clock (connected). My sense is a) and b) needed to be soldered to the board. CORRECT?

OK, NEW REVELATIONS: the 'new' battery was installed in the remote by Walmart couple weeks ago. No mixup.... Found a new battery here in the drawer and decided to try it. Holding all three contacts to the board and my battery, the remote works.

So, doing the soldering will make all well!!

I have a soldering iron to use (craft type unit with point choices also with solder), but is there a special solder that would work best? Any do or don't on the soldering approach?
44thSKY is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
Just a tag on note. I've grown accustom to dropping my keys w remote in my right rear pocket of my pants. Often find myself sitting on my keys. Probably the reason for the remote to fail and break the solder joints. A NO,NO for future.
44thSKY is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 04:01 PM
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 17,168
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 947 Post(s)
Garage
go back to my post bill...u have options beside the one I posted. FOB cheap on e bay.
marlboromike is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 04:02 PM
Member
 
TerryJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
soldering on remote

Use a 30 to 40 watt iron and only rosin core solder. no acid core solder! Only heat the joint enough that the solder flows when touched to the connection.

"Man cannot live by Bread alone, He must have Peanut Butter"
TerryJ is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryJ View Post
Use a 30 to 40 watt iron and only rosin core solder. no acid core solder! Only heat the joint enough that the solder flows when touched to the connection.
Thanks for that. I'm using a 30W iron and will purchase rosin core solder just to be sure I'm using the right stuff.
44thSKY is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Bryan Hilliard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 44thSKY View Post
Thanks for that. I'm using a 30W iron and will purchase rosin core solder just to be sure I'm using the right stuff.
44th, I didn't read the whole thread, so this link may have been posted already. $10 bucks for a FOB, $50 to program at a GM dealer. (I threw away the key as the dealers won't cut a key that doesn't come from them.). Purchased a key at Lowe's for $35, (includes cutting) and programmed it per the manual. So I got a new key and fob for $95, vs. highway robbery from GM.

Extra Partss | eBay Stores
Bryan Hilliard is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryJ View Post
Use a 30 to 40 watt iron and only rosin core solder. no acid core solder! Only heat the joint enough that the solder flows when touched to the connection.
Thanks Terry. Your info gave me the confidence that I would be using the right stuff to solder those two very small points on the circuit board's battery hold-down device. It took just a couple of seconds to solder the two points. ALL IS WELL! The remote now does it's job, and I won't be carrying my remote and keys in my back pocket again!

More good news, I'm just sure one remote on the Coupe does not work for the exact same reason. So it will be easy to fix that one too. And to those suggesting purchasing the ebay remotes, those were good suggestions too; however this was simpler to accomplish.
44thSKY is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 03:30 PM
Member
 
tompass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: NJ/SC
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
I used gorilla glue. Holding up fine. And don't drop, because that connection is indeed prone to breaking.
tompass is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Bryan Hilliard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tompass View Post
I used gorilla glue. Holding up fine. And don't drop, because that connection is indeed prone to breaking.
I used Gorilla glue the first time too. Worked great, till I dropped it again. Then, all hope was lost!
Bryan Hilliard is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
44thSKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to 44thSKY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Hilliard View Post
I used Gorilla glue the first time too. Worked great, till I dropped it again. Then, all hope was lost!
Using glue where you have a solder joint??? Wow, what faith. My wife bought a wood craft solder set at Harbor Freight for $7 (got 20% off on the coupon). It is rated at 30 watts. Ace Hardware had rosin core solder for $4. (Wanted to make sure the solder used was acid core.) The advice given above in this tread was these same items....30-40 watt iron and resin core solder. Not including setup, it was about 10 seconds to solder those two connections. As tightly as those remotes are pressed together, I don't expect them to have problems unless I start sitting on the remote again.
44thSKY is offline  
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > General Saturn Sky Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome