anybody using Torque Pro app? - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Saturn Sky Redline Discussion Forum for discussion of aspects of the anticipated hi-performance version of the Saturn Sky.

User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-17-2017, 07:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
anybody using Torque Pro app?

Just got a new gadget. I picked up a bluetooth OBD2 device and am learning a bit about the Torque Pro app. The first thing I looked at was my boost levels. Ever since I got the Trifecta I was concerned that I may be boosting more than the DIC would show. I always see a constant 23 PSI on the display. I hooked up the gadget and the app is showing 22.8 max boost. I was wondering if anybody using this app knows how accurate this reading is. I'm pretty sure the OEM MAP sensors can read up to about 24.5 or so PSI. I'm hoping the readings are an accurate interpretation of the voltages the MAP sensors are sending. I know the DIC doesn't show tenths so I'm assuming it rounds things off.

Joe

FLASHED

2008 Red Line Carbon Flash SE Naked!
stungjoe is offline  
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-17-2017, 07:25 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
Well, keep in mind the OBD2 device won't be any more accurate than the dash reading since they both are getting their data from the exact same place.

I know sensors get a little "fuzzy" at the extreme ends of their range so I don't know how accurate the stock sensor is when it's almost maxed out.

OH, and I do run the torque app if I'm not wanting to break out the HP Tuners.


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-17-2017, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
I found a post by Tomato Soup about the science behind the voltages but it was beyond my comprehension... suffice it to say the higher the voltage the less accurate the reading as you stated.

Joe

FLASHED

2008 Red Line Carbon Flash SE Naked!

Last edited by stungjoe; 01-17-2017 at 07:48 PM.
stungjoe is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 12:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
This is why the GMPP Tune went with 3 bar MAP sensors...


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
KappaTarbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
I use it every once in a while. It's a pretty neat little tool.

Here is a link to some themes another member made to match the dash of the Sky.

https://www.skyroadster.com/forums/f2...-themes-42541/
stungjoe likes this.

08 Carbon Flash Redline 5 Speed
LDK long block. DDM Works clutch kit, brace bundle, oil catch can and SS brake lines. Stoptech Sport pads with ATE Type 200 fluid. Fujita intake and charge tubes. Gutted stock downpipe. Tuned with HP Tuners.
KappaTarbo is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,799
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
The sensors are only run within their accuracy ranges with the stock tunes. However, aftermarket tunes can increase boost into the 'rolled off' areas of the sensors.

Bottom line, boosts level reported by the sensors in stock tunes would be pretty accurate.

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 11:37 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomatoSoup View Post
The sensors are only run within their accuracy ranges with the stock tunes. However, aftermarket tunes can increase boost into the 'rolled off' areas of the sensors.

Bottom line, boosts level reported by the sensors in stock tunes would be pretty accurate.
Kind of what I thought. Sounds about right.


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomatoSoup View Post
The sensors are only run within their accuracy ranges with the stock tunes. However, aftermarket tunes can increase boost into the 'rolled off' areas of the sensors.

Bottom line, boosts level reported by the sensors in stock tunes would be pretty accurate.
I guess then I'm pretty glad to see something lower than 23PSI.
Now if i can find the knock sensor on this app.

Joe

FLASHED

2008 Red Line Carbon Flash SE Naked!
stungjoe is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 11:52 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by stungjoe View Post
I guess then I'm pretty glad to see something lower than 23PSI.
Now if i can find the knock sensor on this app.
The value is called Knock Retard. It's there.


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Can't find it. Goes from something kilometers to liters something
stungjoe is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 01:41 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by stungjoe View Post
Can't find it. Goes from something kilometers to liters something
Huh. Should be there. I have...

Kilometers Per Litre(Long Term Average)

Knock Retard

Knock Retard(Alternative)

Knock sensor active counter

Last Shift Time

Litres Per 100 Kilometer(instant)

(And I have no idea why it is litres and not liters)


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotech View Post
Huh. Should be there. I have...

Kilometers Per Litre(Long Term Average)

Knock Retard

Knock Retard(Alternative)

Knock sensor active counter

Last Shift Time

Litres Per 100 Kilometer(instant)

(And I have no idea why it is litres and not liters)
Mine jumps from:
Kilometers Per Litre(Long Term Average)
to
Litres Per 100 Kilometer(instant)


EDIT: I did find a free widget called knock detector. But it has it's own screen so i can't see any other gauges while testing for knock.

Joe

FLASHED

2008 Red Line Carbon Flash SE Naked!

Last edited by stungjoe; 01-18-2017 at 06:05 PM.
stungjoe is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 06:27 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
And you have the Pro version of Torque, right? Are you Android or Apple?


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member

 
stungjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: South O' Dallas
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Pro version, paid $4.95 for it. Android (Galaxy S6) using a BAFX 34t5 Bluetooth dongle

Joe

FLASHED

2008 Red Line Carbon Flash SE Naked!

Last edited by stungjoe; 01-18-2017 at 06:34 PM.
stungjoe is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-18-2017, 06:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10,542
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Garage
Huh...Same here...well, 5S Galaxy but that shouldn't make a difference. Sometimes there are little differences between the Android and Apple products but wouldn't matter in this case. COULD be your dongle if it uses another piece of software on your phone for connectivity. The one I have is straight Bluetooth and requires no other software. Here is mine:

ELM327 OBDII Bluetooth Auto Car Diagnostic Wireless Transceiver Dongle - Blue | eBay

But that's really the only thing I can think of. I'm a 2007 and you're a 2008 but again, that shouldn't make a difference.


V.A.L. (#1108)
2007 2.4 Base
MagnaFlow dual outlet, quad tip exhaust test car
**Sold**

Max (#1547)
2007 TURBO 2.4
Too much to list here. See my Garage for details.
Robotech is offline  
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Saturn Sky Redline Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome