brake lights - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Technical Saturn Sky Discussion Technical and performance aspects of the Saturn Sky Roadster. Sky Problems | Solutions | Repairs | Recalls | Tech Bulletins | Tech Tips | In the Manual Basic Tech Advertisement

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
brake lights

Out of the blue today....

Brake lights are on when I start car, when I apply peddle they go off after a few seconds they come back on, running lights won't work in auto position but will in manual.

Any thoughts were to start?


Pat
psmith32 is offline  
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 12:37 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,639
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Is it all three brake lights? Both sides and the center one? Do the turn signals work?

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
thanks, yes to all
psmith32 is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 01:03 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,639
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
What exactly are the running lights doing? Do both front and back do the same thing?

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
yes. The running lights Key off/on only work when manually turned on OR the photo eye is covered up never in auto.
Turn signals work fine. Brake light is always on, turns off first time pedal is pressed stays off for 5 seconds then turns back on.
If I repeatedly press the brake, The lights work correctly until 5 seconds of no pedal movement then turn on.
psmith32 is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 02:41 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,639
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
That sounds normal for the running lights. In auto and daylight the DRLs will be on, but the running lights will not. Covering the sensor simulates night so the DRLs will switch to headlights and the running lights will turn on. Manual of course gives you manual control of headlights and running lights, and the DRLs will be off.

The brake lights and rear turn signals use the same filament and the same BCM output, so if the turn signals are working that part is OK. That leaves the brake pedal switch. You can check to see if it is broken or loose.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks john, I'll check tomorrow. I suspect that if I replace the pedal sensor/switch I will have to have it programed?
psmith32 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 04:29 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,639
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
If you replace it, yes, it will have to be re-calibrated. But you may just find that it is loose, and then it should be OK.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Now on to the next problem
DTR's now not working. low beam works, covering light sensor turns low beam on. relay 48 {dtr} has power (12 volts) on pin 30 and 85.
but relay never engages. it seams there is a resistor wire to drop voltage to 9 Volts. Anybody have an idea were it is located.
My thought is is blown.
psmith32 is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 10:55 PM
Moderator
 
JohnWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,639
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
What about the brake lights?

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by psmith32 View Post
Now on to the next problem
DTR's now not working. low beam works, covering light sensor turns low beam on. relay 48 {dtr} has power (12 volts) on pin 30 and 85.
but relay never engages. it seams there is a resistor wire to drop voltage to 9 Volts. Anybody have an idea were it is located.
My thought is is blown.
There is no resistor. The 'dimming' of the DRL headlights is done by the DTR relay simply switching the two lights to series (so they divide the voltage and get ~6V each). If your relay isn't engaging, it may be faulty. To check, switch that relay with another similar one that's not being used for the moment and has the same shape and pins (such as the high beam relay, #72 ). If THAT still doesn't work, then you have an issue in the wiring to the relay (or in the BCM).

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...

Last edited by TomatoSoup; 06-24-2019 at 08:49 AM.
TomatoSoup is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 12:39 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Tomatosoup

Yes I changed relays no "click". So I grounded one side (pin 86 or 85) and both DTR's comes on. So now It's on to tracing the ground wire.
After doing this I was not thinking the BCM because it was supplying 12 Volts to relay. Could it instead be controlling the ground?
I did a few weeks back do the side turn signal mod (2). the're now flashing with the turn signal. I'm not sure if this circuit is connected with DTR's but it does require cutting a ground wire.
I'll have to snoop around for a wiring diagram.

Johnwr

I took the bulbs out cleaned all the connections and so far there back to normal thanks for advise...on to the DTR's

Last edited by psmith32; 06-24-2019 at 03:56 PM.
psmith32 is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 05:18 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Garage
In general ECM/PCM/etc control grounds, not +12v.
Amorget is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by psmith32 View Post
Tomatosoup

Yes I changed relays no "click". So I grounded one side (pin 86 or 85) and both DTR's comes on. So now It's on to tracing the ground wire.
After doing this I was not thinking the BCM because it was supplying 12 Volts to relay. Could it instead be controlling the ground?
Yes, the BCM controls most things by switching the ground. I've attached the Solstice headlamp wiring diagram. Should be almost the same as the Sky, apart from the different number of bulbs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psmith32 View Post
I did a few weeks back do the side turn signal mod (2). the're now flashing with the turn signal. I'm not sure if this circuit is connected with DTR's but it does require cutting a ground wire.

Ahhhhh, now the truth is coming out. That's what we, in the business, call "a clue"!

Yes, I think you need to revisit that mod and verify you did it correctly!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lamps Headlamps+DRLs.gif
Views:	11
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	105417  

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks i'll have to do some wire tracing
psmith32 is offline  
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Technical Saturn Sky Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome