Relay Part Numbers - Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum
Technical Saturn Sky Discussion Technical and performance aspects of the Saturn Sky Roadster. Sky Problems | Solutions | Repairs | Recalls | Tech Bulletins | Tech Tips | In the Manual Basic Tech

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-31-2017, 01:04 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Relay Part Numbers

Anyone want to help me solve a relay part number dilemma?

I'm still working on my trunk pop issues mentioned in an earlier thread. One of the suggestions was to try swapping in a new "trunk release relay" (relay #18 in the under-hood fuse box). I went to three part stores today, and all three tried to sell me a relay that was clearly the wrong part. It looks like the published data they're all working off of is incorrect.

The relay they kept trying to sell me was a large square relay, about the size of a standard "flasher" unit. The trunk relay is a rectangular relay about half the size of those, grey in color, 4 pins, and marked:

VJ28-91F24-Z06 TYCO 20A 14VDC MEX 0722701A

Searching those numbers doesn't yield any cross reference part numbers, or new units for sale (although it hits on a few eBay auctions for used relays).

Does anyone have a replacement part number, or an ACDelco / Denso / etc. part number that is compatible with this relay?
skylarsutton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-31-2017, 01:24 AM
First 2000 Sr. Member
 
marlboromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Posts: 17,328
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1025 Post(s)
Garage
Did u ever think of going to the parts dept of a GM dealership....they probably will give u your answer. Make sure they r not busy when asking the question. An afternoon walk-in usually works.
marlboromike is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-31-2017, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
I did consider it, but considering that everyone seems to be working with bad data I don't have much faith in whatever their computer will show.

Last edited by skylarsutton; 10-31-2017 at 10:53 AM.
skylarsutton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-31-2017, 10:42 AM
Junior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,909
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
These relays are all largely the same. The only differences are physical size and pin layout (well, plus current handling capability, but they all seem to be the same current handling capability too). I'd lay odds that if you get a relay of the same size and pin layout, it will work fine. Do what MM said and take your old relay to the parts counter at a GM dealer.

Having said that and if you still want a part number, I bought an Omron relay from Digikey (here: https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...648-ND/1506402) for my fog light mod. Works just fine and handles 35Amps - more than enough for the trunk.

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Finally tracked it down.

The fuse box lists it as "Trunk Release Relay", but GM lists it as "Rear Compartment Lid Release Relay".

GM part number: 19116057
ACDelco part number: D1786C

Interestingly, my OEM relay is a 20A Tyco... but this ACDelco unit is a 35A! Everything I can find indicates the ACDelco should have been OEM instead of the Tyco, but every relay on this car is a Tyco and I can find eBay posts listing the Tyco as an OEM part. Very confusing.
skylarsutton is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 10:43 AM
Junior Member
 
TomatoSoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 3,909
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarsutton View Post
Interestingly, my OEM relay is a 20A Tyco... but this ACDelco unit is a 35A! Everything I can find indicates the ACDelco should have been OEM instead of the Tyco, but every relay on this car is a Tyco and I can find eBay posts listing the Tyco as an OEM part. Very confusing.
Like I said. Doesn't matter. They are interchangeable.

Owner of "Campbelle", a Brazen 2008 GXP ... with mods piling up...
TomatoSoup is offline  
Reply

  Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum > Saturn Sky Discussion > Technical Saturn Sky Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome