Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
First 2000 Sr. Member
1,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which way is every leaning towards? Auto or Manual Trans.

Everyone knows that Manual trans are supposed to provide better performance and gas mileage, but my neighbor was making the argument that unless you are an expert shifter and work at shifting quickly each time, that the automatic is the better bet. Yes, if you are racing from a dead-stop then a manual does is best... but how often are you doing that?

Also... small point, but consider that it seems with the initial sky rollout, they were shipping manual trans first, skipping over automatics in the queue. Maybe theyve worked out whatever early issue they had and wont be the case for redline, but if manual gets ya the car a month or two faster...

·
Registered
132 Posts
I went with the manual because with this car I want to feel like I'm driving in every aspect (even if i'm not very good at it). Auto's are nice, but for me take away from a true driving experience. If this was going to be my sole commuter I may have leaned more towards the auto simply for the gridlock that I'm faced with.

·
Registered
92 Posts
And I take the opposite position. I prefer the Automatic...

I enjoy driving too much to have to work (or think) too hard while doing it. :D

Especially since the Sky is my daily driver and Boston bumper to bumper traffic can be a pain with a stick. :brentil:

Basically it comes down to personal preference.

:cheers:

·
Registered
380 Posts
Roadsters are made to shift.

I have an auto BMW Z4 (which I got so my wife could drive it). It mostly sits in the garage. The fun car is the Sky. To really get the full driving experience with a roadster, becoming one with it, shifting is the only way. Maybe for an every driver an automatic would be OK. That's my opinion.

·
Registered
50 Posts