Saturn Sky Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pretty confident the clutch is slipping on my '07 Sky RL with Trifecta tune. This occurs while in 3rd/4th/5th, haven't experienced it in first or second and if I disable the tune it doesn't slip. Easy to reproduce - defo the clutch. wondering if anyone has a line on a shop in San Diego that can do it for a fair price and competent job? And should I get the Waterpump done at the same time? timing chain?

'07 redline with 46K miles. tune is a year old.

·
Registered
1,210 Posts
I think it's around 10 hours for doing the clutch, look into the ddm clutch kit. No reason to do the timing chain, it's not a belt. As for the water pump that's upto you, think it's another 6h for that or so.

I've been autocrossing with 315 wide Hoosiers for 10 years with a tune and the clutch never slipped so double check its actually that.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think it's around 10 hours for doing the clutch, look into the ddm clutch kit. No reason to do the timing chain, it's not a belt. As for the water pump that's upto you, think it's another 6h for that or so.

I've been autocrossing with 315 wide Hoosiers for 10 years with a tune and the clutch never slipped so double check its actually that.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Exactly the same happens with my Opel GT and EDS 320hp tune. If the tune is disabled everything is okay.

If I decided to change clutch, should I look for a reinforced one o going with a new OEM clutch would be enough?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Exactly the same happens with my Opel GT and EDS 320hp tune. If the tune is disabled everything is okay.

If I decided to change clutch, should I look for a reinforced one o going with a new OEM clutch would be enough?
At 320hp I would recommend at least a Stage 1 or preferably Stage 2 spec clutch, I would not go OEM.

·
Registered
8 Posts
i can't imagine what else it could be. its not the wheels spinning.