Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have almost 2300 miles on my Sky, but the computer's Oil Life Percentage reads 78%. By my calculations this gives me over 10,000 miles until I need to get my oil changed!

Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Does the percentage start to go down more rapidly soon? It seems to have been pretty constant so far.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I THINk (don't have a manual in my hand) but I think oil change is recommended at 50% life...

·
Registered
517 Posts
There will be a change engine oil soon light come on and you supposed to change within 600 miles of seeing this light.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think I'm still going to change the oil every 3,000.

·
Registered
138 Posts
the new oils that gm use are much better than the oil that you and i have been using for many years. 12 to 15 thousand k, sorry i'm canadian. 8 to 10 miles is not unusual for oil changes. trust your computor. it calculates not only miles, but idal time. if you follow this schedule it will confer to gm warrenty requirements.

·
Registered
2,950 Posts
azd100 said:
I have almost 2300 miles on my Sky, but the computer's Oil Life Percentage reads 78%. By my calculations this gives me over 10,000 miles until I need to get my oil changed!

Does the percentage start to go down more rapidly soon? It seems to have been pretty constant so far.
I have read about this computer calculation that tells you when to change your oil... Gm did several years of data collection, with different brands of oil, all meeting the GM requirments for oils.. and they use several measurments that the computer takes in this calculation...

first they use engine temperatures, and they use rpms, they also use speed.