Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So first, I'm a noob here as the wife and I finally made a trip to the local Saturn dealer to check out the Sky. It was a nice and steamy weekend here in San Diego, and on the ride up to the dealer it read 114°F/ and 104 in the shade. Poor sales guy had one in stock and it was being detailed outside so they could bring it in and let the owner wait a few weeks while they used it as the showpiece til the next one comes in stock.

He braved the heat and led us to a tented over Sky so that they could at least not get a sunburn while working on it and showing it off. Our sales guy put up with the heat, and my wife oggling the car as I drew as many comparisons and remembered my first convertable a 95 Miata.

We were told 5-6 month wait and that they wanted a $500 deposit, which we thought was low. So we left to think about it and the proposed long wait. After a 20 minute drive home and about 30 seconds on the couch, and we called the dealer and said we'd be down before they closed to put down a deposit.

Let me just say that I haven't met a dealer that was so up front about everything, and i hope it stays that way during the long wait. We built the car on the web, and then transferred those specs to some other paperwork to be processed as our order. So to be clear:

1> Sticker price was offered and the explanation about the recent price jump was made and a word on adjustable height seating.

2> No mandatory add-ons were required so....

3> Forrest Green, Tan/Tan, Chrome rims, spoiler,and LSD

Sad thing is that we dropped the deposit close to their closing time, actually after their closing time, and were told the computers were not up and they would enter the information ASAP. We were told 5-6 months, so maybe in a few days I'll call to make sure they got the ball rolling.