Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just came from the dealer and they noticed that my fender on the driver's side was cracked. In looking at it I don't think a lift did it. I think it is a stress crack caused by either improper assembly, defective panel or the car is flexing. I've had the car 2 weeks and have 1200 miles on it and the only time it was on a lift was prior to delivery and they were very careful. My background is automotive quality so I feel comfortable in my analysis. It was found this morning at a sister dealership and I have sent a photo to my dealer and asked that they contact GM for indepth research on this before it gets out of hand. Any of you looked under your car and found a crack under the front fender behind the wheel?

·
Registered
277 Posts
No, but I will look tonight. Thanks for the heads up.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Just got under the car with a flashlight. All is clear:thumbs:

My car has been up on the lift 3 times. My service manager did comment that it must go up a certain way to avoid damage. Good luck

·
Registered
105 Posts
This is correct, the lift has to be the full drive up lift versus the under-car lift or damage can occur. Our dealership only has one lift that they will use on our car and that it the alignment lift.

·
First 2000 Sr. Member
4,853 Posts
lchrisns said:
This is correct, the lift has to be the full drive up lift versus the under-car lift or damage can occur. Our dealership only has one lift that they will use on our car and that it the alignment lift.
What? How would they change the brakes/tires/suspension parts? There has to be a way for it to go onto a regular lift- unless, of course, I don't understand what you mean and have just announced my extreme lack of technical know-how to all and sundry.

·
First 2000 Sr. Member
1,569 Posts
reedred said: