Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:cool:

Hey Everyone!

I've lurking around the board for a while now -- Saturn of Manassas (Northern VA) said my new SKY rolled off the truck last night!

I will be picking it up on Wed.

Question for everyone on the board. This is my first new car so I have very little experience. I have a question about trade-ins.

I drive a '03 Nissan Xterra Special Edition (bright yellow!). I had a few bites leading up to the Sky, but ultimately no one wanted to purchase it. I am left to trade it in.

How do I get the most for my trade in?

It's in excellent shape, rare color, and only 38,000 miles (pretty good for an '03). I bought it used from CarMax for $23,000. I only owe $15,000 on it now.

Do you suggest taking it in to CarMax, or trading it in at the Saturn Dealership? Or should I do both and takes which ever pays more? Do you think the Saturn Dealership will offer me as much as CarMax would?

Also, any tips on negotiating a trade in value? Am I even in a postion to negotiate?

sorry for asking so many questions! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,381 Posts
Go to Kelly Blue Book and see what the trade value is for your old car. This way you know if they are taking advantage of you, but it sould be close to the Blue Book.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Without knowing the specifics on it...

Just for a rough Idea I suppose.
I just put in the basics from the info you gave in that post. The SE package with base upgrades.

Trade in Value of 14,625 in excellent to 13,750 for good condition with 38,000 miles.

Private Party would get you about 16,000 to 17,000 for it however.

With the Suggested Resale value being around 19,000 is what the dealership will ask for it to sell it.

·
Registered
410 Posts