Saturn Sky Forum banner

Automatic or Manual?

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I am selling my original Sky so I can get the redline. My base Sky has an automatic, which I really do like. I have very little experience driving a manual car, but I just know that "oh, you should have got a manual" just will NOT stop. I know manuals are better for performance, gas mileage, and such. I am confident that I can learn to drive a manual in just a week. But, I will also be driving this car in the city, stop-n-go and so forth. What do you guys think?

I really do like the automatic that the base Sky has. But, should I go manual? I am absolutely :banghead: :banghead: trying to decide.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Voted Manual, need to explain.

I have the same reasons as other people for sayingt hat you should get a manual, but I would not recommend them for everyone. My commute is 20-25 minutes through back roads. I don't have to deal with stop and go traffic. I like the added control that a manual gives me.

You might want an automatic if:
1) Your left leg is warped or weak or missing
2) You like to clutch the steering wheel with both hands
3) You like paying extra for the car AND the gas
4) You would rather be driven than drive
5) The only legitimate reason: You're in stop and go traffic for considerable time periods every day

·
Registered
166 Posts
If you're planning on autocrossing the car or like to really feel 'in control' of the car like you do with a manual transmission then the manual is the only way to go.

If you are just buying a Sky with more pep and don't care about racing then there's no sense in buying a manual since it'll just be more work. However, be prepared for most people who you show the car to to say "Oh it's an auto? Why didn't you get a manual?"

·
Registered
637 Posts
maintenance on an automatic transmission will generally run you more money also, that is if something goes wrong.