1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
185 Posts
I have no racing experience, besides loving to watch races, so I am a complete layman, but I found your concise comments to be absolutely Spot On! Especially this part...

snaponbob said:
All this uproar over a car that Motor Trend, Road & Track, Car & Driver, etc., said could not run with an MX5. Huh? And the MX5 can't run with a 99 Miata? I can't wait until my Redline shows up. :D The S2000 forum (is there one?) will explode!
I think it was a valid reality check for all those folks who are terrified at the prospect of the Miata's 6 year dominance coming to an end.

The whining of "cost" related issues is especially absurd and laughable. If racing wasn't expensive we would ALL be involved in it. And basing your argument on being able to race competitively with an 8-year old used car is completey fecetious. It was a nice bonus while it lasted, but it is NO reason to move a competing car out of a given racing class.

All I would hope for the Solstice and Sky is to receive the respect the car deserves from the people on the Miata forum, and the respect GM deserves for having the guts to build it and build it right.

I can understand their trauma. They worship the 99 Miata because it has been so dominant for so long, because Mazda has refused to sell a stock Miata as good.

I like reading FastMike's posts because they are interesting, the tone is high-brow and he puts his money where his mouth is. It sounds like you have "been there and done that" as well, and deserve a good measure of respect.