Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I had originally ordered my SKY with the performance suspension, which is a dealer installed part.

They went to put it on, and found that their kit contained two front end sets. It could have taken weeks for the right pieces to come in, so I had them put the car back together as manufactured, and took delivery, planning on getting the PS added at a later date.

But now I'm not sure.

My driving habits are fairly back roads (avg 40-45 mph) to and from work every day--about 25 miles round trip. Typical errands on the weekend. I didn't buy the car for "performance" but more because I liked the look and wanted a ragtop, and I've been driving Saturns since 1996.

My SKY is manual shift, and I live in Florida and will drive her pretty much year round--although I have an L-Series to drive in inclement weather.

I like the ride I've got now. What will the Performance Suspension do for me if I spend the cash to have it installed? How will it change the ride?

Thoughts and words of wisdom are invited.

Anne

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
It will come in handy if you decide to race her...
:jester:

·
Registered
4,329 Posts
The ride is a lot stiffer, but it handles great. The respose is quicker than stock and IMO it just feels great. I drove the stock suspension, good, but not as responsive. I think it is worth the investment

You will feel every bump, but who cares?

·
Premium Member
2,602 Posts
This is one of those personal preference things.
I'm glad Ernest weighed in as a Performance Suspension owner.

I've driven both to evaluate, but own and prefer the stock.
All comes down to what you like and to some extent how you drive the car.
There's tradeoffs here.

To some, the suspension upgrade just makes the car everything they want it to be.
Ernest nails it here. It's stiffer, but feels more responsive and handles better.