Saturn Sky Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,686 Posts
ggccg said:
Definitely not the one with the apostrophe!

That is for when you are referring to your "SKY's color" for example. The correct spelling for plural SKY is Skies. :thumbs:

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
so does Toyota have a lot full of Camrys or Camries. I just was wondering if the pluralization changes because it is a name and not the word anymore...

·
Registered
61 Posts
I'd say...

As an English Instructor I'd say the correct "standard" English for the plural of Sky is Skies. However, due to the fact that it is a proper noun and deviation rules allowed, I'd say "Sky" without any s, es, ies, 's, can stand for the plural form on its own.

I saw 3 Sky earlier this week at the auto dealership.

I saw 3 Skies earlier this week at the auto dealership.

But I am a bit edgy about,

I saw 3 Skys(skitz) earlier this week at the auto dealership.

I saw 3 Skyes(?) earlier this week at the auto dealership.

I saw 3 Sky's(?) earlier this week at the auto dealership.

So as you can see, in a sentence, the second appears most correct. However, in informal spoken language, any form would work since you're just trying to get the point across.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
For me, SKY is spelled with all caps
So plural is = SKYs (I saw 3 SKYs)
Possessive is SKY's (That CAI is that SKY's)
Plural Possessive = SKYs' (The SKYs' have all the best colors)

:thumbs:

·
Registered
44 Posts
Magna Sky said:
As an English Instructor I'd say the correct "standard" English for the plural of Sky is Skies. However, due to the fact that it is a proper noun and deviation rules allowed, I'd say "Sky" without any s, es, ies, 's, can stand for the plural form on its own.

I saw 3 Sky earlier this week at the auto dealership.

I saw 3 Skies earlier this week at the auto dealership.

But I am a bit edgy about,

I saw 3 Skys(skitz) earlier this week at the auto dealership.