Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just upgraded my 07 sky base to a 08 Sky Redline with 6k original miles. Looking to boost the performance but I am new to all this and not looking to completely go nuts or blow out my engine. I ordered the Turbo upgrade from GM and will have that installed next week. Was thinking of adding a REACT from Hypertech’s innovative throttle optimizer. And upgrading to a K&N High Flow panel air filter or possibly DDM Works cold air intake upgrade but I'm guessing that would be more cosmetic going from the K&N to the Air intake upgrade. Finally i was going to upgrade to the Ecotec High Flow CAT by SOLO Performance. I'm assuming I need to take it in to re tune everything once that is all done or is that done with the throttle optimizer? I know the turbo upgrade will switch me to premium fuel but not sure at that point if i should have it tuned. What are the thoughts from people who know far more than me. This is my first mod to a car and i want to keep this car for a long time investing into an 2008 with 6,000 miles. Just looking to sound good, and have an little extra pep in my step when I needed it without causing damage to the motor. Thoughts...…….Anything else i should be doing, anything I shouldn't be doing? Thanks

·
Super Moderator
6,344 Posts
The GM upgrade is a tune, the only physical alteration is higher-pressure MAP sensors.

I would skip the throttle optimizer.

Yes, the CAI is cosmetic (and sound increasing) only. Even the K&N element isn't significantly better than the stock filter.

·
Registered
562 Posts
The car should be run on premium with or without the upgrade. The GMPP tune ( I assume you're having it done at a GM dealership and probably paying $900+) will allow for the added power when you add a HFC. However, if you added an aftermarket IC as well, then and only then, would I recommend a custom tune to get more out of it.