Saturn Sky Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been told not to wax my car for at least 6 months...does that include the standard wax that accompanies car washes? When I do go to the hand wash places, I tell them not to add the wax :confused:

·
First 2000 Sr. Member
3,491 Posts
I would say "it depends on the wax."

If you use 100% carnauba wax (Harly Wax is one brand) then that is a pure, non-abrasive protective coating that can make your car look really great. There are other non-abrasive synthetics that are supposedly good too, but I have no experience with those.

I would recommend applying a non-abrasive wax immediately after taking delivery of the car. A good wax will keep it cleaner and provide a layer of protection from bug guts and road grime and all that other gunk.

Under NO circumstances would I use a "cleaner wax" or "color restorer" or any wax with any sort of cleaner or abrasive in it. These are designed to remove old, oxidized paint (which is why you would want to wait at least six months) but can introduce micro-scratches into the surface of your new car. So don't use a cleaner wax!

But a pure, non-abrasive wax I think is goodness.

·
First 2000 Sr. Member
5,953 Posts
I have been told not to wax my car for at least 6 months...does that include the standard wax that accompanies car washes? When I do go to the hand wash places, I tell them not to add the wax :confused:
The Skys go thru an oven that bakes the paint. So by the time you receive it the paint has already been cured and I recommend a good wax, non-abrasive, and the carwash liquid wax is OK too. Skip.. car wash does my Sky once a week:cool: :) :)

·
Premium Member
7,468 Posts