Saturn Sky Forums: Saturn Sky Forum - View Single Post - K04 Internal Parts and Operation
View Single Post
post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-25-2016, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Robotech
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1774 Post(s)
Garage
Thanks guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaturnSkyRedline2015 View Post
Troy, nicely written. Thank you for doing this.
A couple of questions:

1). Often when one describes the size of a turbo, it is referenced by millimetres. How big is the K04?
I know someone mentioned once the size of the K04...but I cannot remember for the life of me what that size is...that said...

When they talk in mms, it usually is talking about the diameter of the compressor wheel though it can be in reference to the turbine wheel as well. I'm still relatively new to the world of turbos (writing stuff like this helps me organize my thoughts and get the information down in my head better) but from what I can understand so far, the bigger the wheel the greater the volume of air you can compress and thus your airflow rises even when boost pressure stays the same.

There are also TWO wheels on one fan...an Inducer and an Exducer. So usually mms refers to one of these wheels.

Think of it this way (and mind you, these numbers I'm just pulling out of thin air...). Lets say you have a 45mm compressor wheel and it moves 30,000 cfm of air at 25psi. Now you upgrade to a 50mm compressor wheel and now you move 35,000 cfm of air at 25 psi. While your boost pressure hasn't changed, you're moving 5,000 cfm more of air and thus can inject a bit more fuel to make a bit more power off that larger compressor wheel. This is overly simplified but the general premise. Keep in mind though that moving that extra air usually comes at a price of a slightly longer "lag" time when spooling up. There are doctorates written on lag, compressor wheel size, turbine wheel size, housing design, and how all these things affect boost levels and spool time.

Quote: